Every now and then I drop my latest gear updates here. Stuff I love to go on and on about, but no one else much cares about. That said, here we go.

Keys:

Still living and loving the Nord Stage, of course. Its my bread and butter, and its my instrument, much more than piano or organ or synth. For more than 10 years now, my style had revolved around combining and layering Hammond and piano sounds. The Nord allows me to do that on-board without patch bays and MIDI setups and chains and crap. Its awesome – I can’t say enough about it.

My Korg X50 is at Scooter’s getting repaired, and once I get it 100% again I will sell it and upgrade to a Korg M50, which I hope to use much more frequently. I love the versatility of it, and will probably use it for jam gigs and smaller situations where the Nord isn’t necessary.

Keyboard amp:
I got an awesome old-school TOA KB2 that some dude was selling out of his garage for $20. Who am I to ask questions. 🙂 I also have the old Alesis Sumos I used in the Trampolines days, and I keep one functional just in case I need to play bass.

Electric guitars:

I don’t think I’ve posted here about the FrankenBari. I was at Go-Round several months ago and encountered this Danelectro bari monstrosity behind the counter and pretty much bought it on the spot before they could even put it out on the floor. Its not a Dano bari, or at least it didn’t start as one. Its a U1 single-pickup that some brave person threw a bari neck on, then installed a dog-ear P90, a full roller bridged Bigsby, and locking Grover tuners. It is the king of the trio gigs I play with MSB right now, and its my favorite axe by far.

The Reverend Flatroc is my main standard electric. I’m trying to sell my Reverend Club King 290 to cover the cost of the M50. I have two beaters that I really like as well – a Peavey Generation Tele that is currently getting a GFS lipstick and a Duncan P90 installed on it, and a total crap Kramer Focus Floyd Rose strat copy that is actually a really awesome player for some reason. Once the Tele is done I will battle those two and keep the winner.

Electric Amps:
Recently sold the Lab Series L5, now I have a ZT Lunchbox and a lovely Hughes & Kettner Tube 20 that I’m experimenting with. I have a trade lined up for a X3 Pro, but that might be a while.

Acoustics:

I have fallen in love with the Fishman Neo-D soundhole humbucker pickup. It sounds great and its passive. I tentatively plan on hardwire installing these on everything I own. Right now, I have one for my Epiphone Chet Atkins (which is weird because its a solid guitar, but its an older one with the faux soundhole and it actually works. So well in fact that I plan on eventually removing the Ellipse in my Alvarez 12 and replacing it with one of these so that everything is consistent.

Acoustic Amp:
Bruce scored my Crate from someone’s garage. It rocks.

Bass:
I have an Ibanez acoustic electric that I scored at Gear Guys for not much, and a Greg Bennett short scale PJ thing that I got from some dude for 85 bucks. Works for me.

That’s the basics of it. Lots of pedals and stuff still, consolidating regularly.

